Pronger and Richards named to Team Canada

After much deliberation and dramatic announcement ceremony on Wednesday, Steve Yzerman’s Team Canada has been named for the 2010 Olympics.

The list, with some noticeable omissions, includes Flyers’ defenseman Chris Pronger and forward captain Mike Richards.  Jeff Carter was placed on the stand-in list in case injury should strike a roster player.

Pronger was named an alternate captain, with former partner and Anaheim defenseman Scott Niedermeyer receiving the “C”.

Earlier in the day, Flyers defenseman Kimmo Timonen was named to Team Finland, along with Tampa Bay goalie Antero Niittymaki and former Flyer Lasse Kukkonen.

Oskars Bartulis (LAT) and Ole-Kristian Tollefsen (NOR) were also selected to their respective teams.

The full Team Canada list thanks to Puck Central

Goaltenders: Martin Brodeur (New Jersey), Marc-Andre Fleury (Pittsburgh), Roberto Luongo (Vancouver)

Defensemen: Drew Doughty (Los Angeles),  Dan Boyle (San Jose), Duncan Keith (Chicago), Scott Niedermayer (C) (Anaheim), Chris Pronger (A) (Philadelphia), Brent Seabrook (Chicago), Shea Weber (Nashville)

Forwards: Sidney Crosby (A) (Pittsburgh), Joe Thornton (San Jose), Corey Perry (Anaheim), Brendan Morrow (Dallas), Patrick Marleau (San Jose), Rick Nash (Columbus), Patrice Bergeron (Boston),  Ryan Getzlaf (Anaheim), Dany Heatley (San Jose), Jarome Iginla (Calgary), Jonathan Toews (Chicago), Mike Richards (Philadelphia), Eric Staal (Carolina)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009-10 season

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s